Going absolutely bananas!

5 Feb

If you do read this blog on a regular basis, you’d know I am a muffin freak.  So it wasn’t too surprising that it was what I decided to make when my husband got yet another dollar bag of bananas that were about to go.

Admittedly, all this baking and cooking has been going to the hips – remember the old saying “A minute on the lips, forever on the hips?”  I’m definitely learning this fast!  So I’ve been trying to eat healthy (let’s see how long that lasts!)  Nothing screams healthy louder than wholemeal flour, yes?  So in the same vein, I figured honey and olive oil sounded like good things to use too.  The result were very filling muffins which definitely kept the muchies at bay. (And when I say munchies I actually mean crunchies which are way too easily available at work – for fundraising too!  How is a girl supposed to say no?)  And let’s just say the fibre in these babies is HIGH!  Am quite pleased with my healthy snackeroos which also scores high in the natural sugars department!

Am trying to get used to my replacement camera.  It’s got lots of functions but I’m not sure how to use them.  I miss my DSLR.

Banana Muffins

Makes 6 – 8 muffins

Ingredients

3 large very ripe bananas

0.6 cup self raising wholemeal flour

0.5 tsp ground cinnamon

30ml olive oil

40ml honey

0.5 tsp vanilla essence

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Peel and mash up the bananas.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients together.
  4. Mix the wet ingredients together.
  5. Mix the dry with the wet ingredients.
  6. Spoon into muffin cups
  7. Bake for 20 minutes or until a skewer poked into the muffin comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

