Going bananas

17 Jan

Time spent with the family, the lack of internet access and the almost constantly overcast sky meant that I have neglected the blog for a while.  I must say that I really miss it!  And then when I was finally ready to blog again, my DSLR died on me.  Sniff!  I felt so crippled without my camera.  Who food blogs without a camera?  Who can?  That was enough to make me go bananas.

Anyhow, the hubs bought 2kg of bananas for $1.  We all know what that means –  Bananas that have to be eaten or used ASAP.  The family suggested banana chips in a bid to be helpful.  The banana chips that we were familiar with are deep fried (in oil used goodness knows how many times) and coated with sugar.  I was aiming for something a little healthier.  So I opted for baking them.  Each tray was finished even before the next tray was in.  Highly addictive but highly labor intensive.  So the rest of the bananas have to be used in a different way – let me know if you have any ideas?  My fall back plan is always muffins.

Banana chips

Ingredients

Ripe bananas

Olive oil

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees Celsius.
  2. Slice banana into 2mm slices and lay on an oiled baking tray.
  3. Spray or drizzle some olive oil over banana slices.
  4. Put into oven for 20 minutes.
  5. Take out and allow to cool on a cooling rack before placing in bottles.

Tips

  1. It is easier to slice the banana at an angle to get larger pieces to save some time.
  2. The riper the banana, the softer it is and more difficult it is to handle but the sweeter the chips.  You have been warned.
  3. The riper the banana, the browner the chips will be as the sugars caramelize.
  4. The riper the banana, the more likely it is to burn.  If that is the case, turn the temperature down a little and take out when the chips are hard.  It will cool to a crisp.
  5. You can toss with honey and nutmeg.  But honestly, they are so good plain, I just don’t bother.
  6. Raw bananas can be substituted but I find them rather tasteless, necessitating the addition of honey and such.  Also, there is a slimy after feel when being handled before cooking which I dislike.
5 Responses to “Going bananas”

  1. theordinarycook January 19, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I have never tried baking my own banana chips, how long and at what temperature?
    Banoffee pie?
    Banana Bread?
    Banana custard?

    • The Accidental Weekend Chef January 19, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      150 degrees celsius and 20 minutes!
      Banana custard? That’s the first time I’ve heard of it but it sounds yummy!

  2. theordinarycook January 22, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    Thank you, I will give them a try. Banana custard is something I had a lot of when I was little, nothing more than bananas sliced into custard, but really, really lovely. Give it a go 🙂

  3. Sunny March 8, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    Those look great! Try my recipe for banana bread. It is SO easy and yummy.
    http://pantrychef.wordpress.com/2011/03/04/banana-bread/

  4. rsmacaalay March 9, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    This looks like a Philippine snack called banana chips! Yummy

Leave a Reply

