The BEST lamburger! Ever!

5 Dec

Some months back we were invited to a friend’s place for a bbq and we had what has to be the best burger I had ever eaten.  It was made of Wagyu beef.  So I thought, there would be no way for me to make a great burger without such good ingredients.  I was wrong.

I’ve been ploughing through cookbooks in a bid to try something new which bubs would eat.  There are a whole lotta stuff that I’m sure he would eat but it just wouldn’t be healthy.  Wait.  Actually, feeding him is sometimes like opening a box of chocolates – you never know what you are going to get!  There are times where he would eat something you thought he wouldn’t and then there are other times where he wouldn’t eat what you thought he would.  And boy does he change his mind.  I guess that’s what being a toddler is.

A lot of recipes get trashed because they either involve too many premade sauces (e.g. Worcestershire sauce) which I’m not too much a fan of (additives and all).  Furthermore, I wasn’t that crazy as to make the sauces from scratch if I was only going experiment.  So this recipe seemed like a good one with no premade sauces at all.  But I wasn’t going to get my hopes up too high.  It IS a tough fight against a Wagyu beef burger from a deli afterall.

I told the hubs that it is close to impossible for me to do any form of photo taking of any meals I make with the bubs awake.  He’s always wanting to “help” stage my food.  Irony is that it’s the best lighting conditions for me.  Baked goods are easier to do as I can wait till he’s safely asleep.

That’s his hand again, telling the hubs where to put what so that he (the bubs) could take a photo of his (the hubs) food.

My last attempt at taking a photo before the bubs stuck his finger into the burger and destroyed it.

The burger was tender and juicy, bursting with flavor.  The usual musky smell of lamb was so well masked by the seasoning!  The yoghurt dressing and lime just made the whole dish pop!

Spiced Turkish lamb & mint burgers

Adapted from The Really Useful Cookbook

Makes 8 burgers

Ingredients

2 slices of leftover bread

Milk for soaking

1 red onion finely chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

4 tablespoons of chopped mint

600g minced lamb

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

finely grated zest of 1 lemon

salt and freshly grated pepper

2 tbsp olic oil

1 lemon cut into quarters

Method

  1. Soak bread in milk for 5 – 10 minutes.  Then squeeze dry and crumble into a large mixing bowl.  Add the onion, garlic, mint, lamb, cumin, coriander, lemon zest, salt and pepper.  Mix with your hands until combined.
  2. To check seasoning, fry a small amount of the mixture until cooked through and taste.  Adjust the seasoning as required.
  3. Lightly flour hands to form mixture into 8 balls and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  4. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.  Heat olive oil in a large ovenproof pan over medium heat, add the matballs and cook for 3 – 4 minutes each side.  Transfer the pan to the oven and cook for 15 minutes or until the burgers are golden and cooked through.
  5. Yoghurt dressing can be made with 125ml plain yoghurt, 2 tbs chopped mint and salt and pepper to taste.  Combine all into a bowl and drizzle the dressing.

Tips

  1. Mint can be chopped using the chiffonade method.  Stack the mint leaves and roll into a cigar.  Then using a sharp knife, slice away at the cigar in thin strips.
  2. I used the left over milk to hold the patties together a bit more as it was a little dry.
  3. I don’t have an oven safe pan so I seared the patties in a saucepan and transferred into a baking pan.  This also meant that I had to clear burnt bits as I went along.
Leave a Reply

