Ad libbing

4 Dec

Today, things didn’t go as planned.  For a good reason but it meant that we didn’t go to the market and I had to scrap my idea of Greek lamb patties.  But it also meant I had to open the fridge and cook something from it.  It’s difficult because I only have a bar fridge and so our stocks at the end of the week are usually very low.  Thank goodness we have a separate freezer which has a stock of meat and fish.

Flinging the fridge door open, I sighed.  I mean, how am I going to put together a dish with bits and bobs when every week I buy stuff according to a recipe in mind?  And to cook something without a recipe?  Quite unheard of!  But I had no choice.  So I managed to fish out some tomatoes, an eggplant and a bottle of homemade pesto I made 2 weeks ago.  I had some chicken thighs and so I set to work.  Admittedly, it isn’t something terribly original per se but I did surprise myself by the ease of the dish and how lovely it turned out.  The bonus?  The kid actually ate the whole lot of it without much trouble!

Baked Chicken and Vegetables with Pesto

Makes for 4 people

Ingredients

4 Chicken drumsticks

2 large tomatoes, cubed

1 eggplant sliced

3/4 cup of basil pesto

Olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Place chicken in a baking pan and cover all over with pesto.
  3. Place vegetables around the chicken and drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Double wrap the baking pan with aluminium foil.
  6. Bake chicken and vegetables for 40 minutes or until the juices from the chicken run clear when pierced with a skewer.

Tips

  1. To prepare eggplant, wash and slice up the eggplant.  Then rub salt into the cut parts of the eggplant and leave to stand for 30 minutes.  Then rinse well.  Dry with a paper towel before cooking.  This takes away the bitter taste of older egg plants.
  2. You can use a cast iron pot with a lid instead.
  3. The sauce goes well with spaghetti.
8 Responses to “Ad libbing”

  1. rsmacaalay December 11, 2010 at 5:46 am #

    So simple yet so yummy

    • brainybairn December 11, 2010 at 6:24 am #

      Thanks! We all need some simple quick recipes that work!

  2. Babygirl December 11, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    Who doesn’t like baked chicken. And the vegetables with pesto gives it a nice touch.

  3. Sandra December 11, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    yum… thanks for the idea… I defrosted chicken and needed a different recipe to try.

    • brainybairn December 12, 2010 at 1:24 am #

      You are welcome! Thanks for popping by and leaving a comment!

  4. Bard Gates December 13, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    That’s awesome! I really love it!

Leave a Reply

