Adding to my experience

26 Nov

Deformed zucchini muffins

I thought since I was doing so well with muffins, I could get fancy.  So I experimented with zucchini muffins.  Nothing ground breaking but I experimented with a different kind of cheese, rather than what people usually used – I used Kraft Singles.  In my absolute brilliance, I forgot that 1. The cheese forms an impermeable layer and prevents the steam from the muffins from escaping. 2. I had just used the grill function of the oven and hadn’t changed it back to convection.

So I ended up with a rather ugly, deformed muffin.  But it tasted yummy all the same.

I learnt again not to judge a book by it cover.

Zucchini Muffins with cheese

Adapted from Best Recipes

Makes 12 medium muffins

Ingredients

2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla essence

2 large eggs

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup apple sauce (I used my apple jam)

2 cups grated zucchini

3 slices of Kraft Singles

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degree Celsius.
  2. Mix all the wet ingredients together until the color lightens.
  3. Mix all the dry ingredients together.
  4. Mix the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients until just mixed.
  5. Add grated zucchini to batter.
  6. Spoon batter into muffin tins lined with muffin cups.
  7. Quarter the Kraft Singles and place on to of the muffin.
  8. Bake muffin for 20 minutes or until skewer comes clean from the centre.

Tips

  1. Grate zucchini using the largest hole grater on the cheese grater.
  2. If you want better looking muffins, you may want to break up the cheese and sprinkle on the top instead.
Leave a Reply

