Apple Jam

20 Nov

I’ve been trying my hand at jams since coming to Melbourne.  Partly I can’t resist the really cheap fruits one can get at the market.  I mean, when blood oranges are 50% cheaper than back home, who can resist, right?  And then realising after the first attempt that it is so easy to make jam, I couldn’t stop.  The economics adds up, the taste and flavor adds up and knowing exactly what goes in definitely adds up!

With the rest of the world heading towards autumn, apples and cinnamon feature on a lot of sites.  So apple jam was a natural choice when this month’s marmalade was finished.  Granny Smiths going for $2/kg today confirmed my decision to make apple jam.

It turned out even easier than marmalade and strawberry jam.  The natural pectin in the apples meant that I didn’t have to use any jamsetta and the apples just cooked themselves to pulp without me having to brandish my blender.  Easy clean up and few utensils! My kinda recipe!

There was just a little bit more left that I couldn’t fit into my jars so I spread it with some crackers and ate it with some nectarines that the bubs left behind.  Slightly tart but full bodied with just the right amount of sugar.

Apple Jam

Ingredients

1.5kg Granny Smiths

1 cup of sugar

Juice of 1 lemon

1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon

Method

  1. Skin and core the apples.  Chop up the apples into rough cubes.
  2. Place apples, lemon juice and sugar into the pot and heat on medium heat until juices start to boil.
  3. Turn the heat down to let the apples simmer.
  4. Clean your jars and sterilise them the way you prefer.
  5. When the apple has turned to a thick, smooth consistency, ladle into the jars and seal.

Tips

  1. The apple cubes don’t have to be uniformed as it all cooks down to a mush
  2. If you are doing a jam for storage on your pantry shelf, you will need a lot more sugar as it is the preservative.
  3. I don’t do the whole jam-jar-in-boiling-water-bath-to-sterilize thing.  If you clean your jars properly and practice hygienic cooking, the jams can last 1 month in the fridge.  I only cook enough for that period of time.  There is limited storage space and we do get sick of having the same thing too often.
  4. I do try to make my jars as clean as possible by washing them with hot soapy water first and then pouring hot boiling water into the jars and over the caps.
One Response to “Apple Jam”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adding to my experience « The Accidental Weekend Chef - November 26, 2010

    […] 1/2 cup apple sauce (I used my apple jam) […]

Leave a Reply

