Meltaways

17 Nov

Lemon Meltaways

Embolden by my success with the cheesecakes, I decided that I’d venture on and try other baked goods.  Admittedly, not having a electric cake mixer does limit one’s repertoire a bit.  Or it makes you develop fantastic biceps.  I’m a bit of a wimp.  I decided to be a bit more creative by using my food processor as a mixing blade and it hasn’t failed me thus far!

I’m a huge fan of Martha Stewart.  Yes, I do know that it is all packaging and that she’s got a great staff that put up a great show, but you must give credit to her genius in building her empire, right?  Anyhow, I came across Lime Meltaways and my greedy little stomach told me that I had to try it out.  I was also sold on the idea that I could make the cookie dough and freeze for a quick snack later.  All the work in 1 go and then savor the fruits of your labor for a long while!

I didn’t have any lime so lemons were used instead.

Lemon Meltaways

(Adapted from Martha Stewart)

Ingredients

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, room temperature

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

Finely grated zest of 1 lemon

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons cornstarch

Method

  1. Place butter and 1/3 cup of caster sugar into food processor and cream at low speed.
  2. Add vanilla, lemon juice and zest and continue mixing at low speed.
  3. Mix the flour together and add to the butter mix, still mixing at low speed until all combined.
  4. Place mixture on parchment paper and roll into a 3cm log.
  5. Place log in the freezer for at least 1 hour.
  6. Cut cookies 1/4 of an inch thick
  7. Place on parchment paper and bake at 190 degrees celsius for 15 minutes.
  8. Take out of the oven to cool
  9. Sprinkle the rest of the sugar on top of the cookies.

Tips

  1. To make creaming faster, you can put the butter in microwave for a quick 10 seconds to soften it.  Do not melt it to liquid!
  2. Try varying the thickness of your cookies to see what you prefer.  The thinner cuts give a slightly crisper texture which the thicker ones a denser one.
  3. You can omit the sugar if you don’t like such sweet cookies.
  4. I buy lemon in bulk and process them for freezing so I always have lemons on hand.  Will put a post up one day on what I do.
2 Responses to “Meltaways”

  1. theordinarycook November 17, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    They sound lovely, I really like lemon flavoured biscuits.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kampar Chicken Biscuit 鸡仔饼 Revisited « The Accidental Weekend Chef - November 25, 2010

    […] making my lemon meltaways the last time, I was just thinking to myself that I could use the method of rolling the […]

Leave a Reply

