Cherry Cheesecake

15 Nov

 

Cherrie

I don’t have photos of the cheesecakes.  They were too ugly.  They were so ugly that when I offered it at work, people tried to be polite and make a dash for the door.  That is until one brave soul came and ate it.  Then thecupcakes all disappeared in a flash.  So don’t judge a book by it’s cover.  It’s the inside that counts

We went to Queen Victoria Market on Saturday for our regular groceries.  The hubs likes going near closing time as people try to get rid of their wares at super low prices.  The cherries were originally going for $8/kg.  But the guy said “$6/kg! Hurry up! I want to go home!”  So I said ” 0.5kg please?” His answer? “Nope.  0.5kg $4 1kg $6.”  So how was I to buy just 0.5 kg.

The cherries were divine and the bubs polished off a small bowl of it after dinner.  The remaining were a bit unripe.  I remembered a recipe from The Basics: A Really Useful Cookbook by Anthony Telsford for cheesecake.  His explanation for the finer details of getting the perfect outcomes for various dishes were very helpful.   Don’t overbeat the cream cheese, bake in a water bath were some tips which I felt made sense.  But I had returned the book to the library just the day before!  So the internet, here I come!

I found a cheesecake recipe (with beautiful photos to inspire me) at The Pleasure Monger.  I substituted cherries for strawberries, thinking that I could create beautiful cheesecakes like her.  But I didn’t have a cake tin.  So I made cheesecake cupcakes.  My result tasted heavenly.  Just the right texture with just the right amount of tartness and sweet.  But. Just. Plain. Ugly.  I attribute it to my inexperience with the cherry sauce.  Not sure if it is because of my substitution of cherry for strawberry or my omission of the small amount of orange juice.  I think the next time I make this, I’d just add my cherries directly into my cream cheese and see what happens.

In my very sparse kitchen, I also have to improvise or make do.  No handheld cake mixer available.  So I used my food processor to do all the work.

Cherry Cheesecake

(adapted from The Pleasure Monger)

Makes 12 medium sized cupcakes

Base

150g Digestive biscuits

50g unsalted butter, melted

  1. Preheat oven to 150 degree Celsius
  2. Line 2 muffin trays with cupcake holders
  3. Break up the biscuits and pour the butter into the food processor and process
  4. Divide mixture equally into all the holders and press down
  5. Bake for about 7 minutes at 150 degree Celsius
  6. Take trays out and set aside to cool completely

Cream cheese filling

500g cream cheese

100g caster sugar

2 medium sized eggs

1 tsp vanilla paste

  1. Bring the cream cheese to room temperature – it helps with the mixing.
  2. Add sugar and blend using food processor.
  3. Add eggs one by one and continue blending.
  4. Add vanilla paste and mix
  5. Pour over cake bases that have been prepared

Cherry topping

150g Cherry washed and pitted

1 tbs caster sugar

1/2 tbs cornflour

  1. Process all the above in a food processor
  2. Pass the contents through a sieve to remove the larger bits
  3. Spoon over the cream cheese filling

Baking the cake

  1. Place muffin tray in a deep tray and fill the deep tray with water to 2.3 way up the muffin tin.
  2. Bake at 150 degree Celsius for 40 minutes.
  3. Cool cakes by leaving the oven door open to avoid having the cakes sinking.

I’ll update with actual cupcake picture when I bake these again.  But now, they are in my colleagues’ stomachs.

2 Responses to “Cherry Cheesecake”

  1. theordinarycook November 15, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    They sound delicious, I wish there was a picture though, ugly or not. I am sure they looked better than you think.

    • brainybairn November 15, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Thank you for the encouraging words! Will definitely take photos the next time!!

Leave a Reply

