Sauteed Button Mushrooms

13 Nov

When we first came to Melbourne, the kid LOVED mushrooms.  Then he decided he didn’t in the way all toddlers make decision – abruptly and with no reasons given.  So I stopped buying mushrooms for quite a while.  But the mushrooms were cheap today.  $5/kg.  I had to buy some.  And luckily I did!

Armed with the recipe off Food Network,  I dug around my pantry.  I didn’t have fresh thyme but I did have dried thyme.  My white wine tasted dodgy to say the least – I had ruined an attempt at risotto by adding the 1/2 cup as instructed by the recipe and it tasted terrible.  I don’t really like parsley and didn’t have it either.  So, I modified to suit what I had and it didn’t turn out bad at all!

Sauteed Button Mushrooms

Serves 3 as a side dish

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 0.5kg whole small button mushrooms, wiped clean
  • 1 tablespoons butter
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 pinches of dried thyme
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 tsp white wine
Method
  1. Clean the button mushrooms by wiping them with a clean towel and a little bit of water.  (Mushrooms tend to absorb water so don’t soak them.  You can run under some water)
  2. Heat up the olive oil in the frying pan until smoking and place dry mushrooms in.  Wait for the mushrooms to turn a slightly translucent color before tossing to allow the mushrooms to retain their shape and moisture.
  3. Add butter and toss the mushrooms in it to coat.
  4. Add salt to taste, lemon juice and thyme
  5. Cook until liquid is reduced.
  6. Serve immediately,
Leave a Reply

