Kampar 鸡仔饼 (Chicken biscuits)

4 Nov

Chicken Biscuit

Was feeling a tad nostalgic and stumbled upon the recipe for Kampar 鸡仔饼 at The Pleasure Monger.  The recipe looked easy enough and fueled by the urge to have a blast from the past, I gathered the necessary ingredients from Richmond to start once I had the chance.

The chance came on the day of the Melbourne Cup.  The little one was asleep and so I quickly busied myself as the whole process would involve quite a production line.  If bubs is up, he’d be sure to bring down either the cooling rack (and cookies) or the baking tray (and cookies).

I’m sure if you googled kampar chicken biscuits, you’d find tonnes of write ups on it, about how it doesn’t actually contain chicken and various recipes.  The one ingredient I found really interesting was nam yee (南乳).  When I was growing up, my grandmother would always eat porridge with 腐乳.  I thought it  was the same thing.  Initially I bought 南乳 and tasted it and felt it was not as salty as I remembered it to be. I attributed it to the brand and proceeded to buy a different brand.  The new brand looked a lot more like what I remembered and it was definitely saltier.  After speaking to my mother-in-law, I found out that it was actually different.  The second bottle was 腐乳 which is different!  There’s a good article on Wikipedia here so I won’t rewrite the tome.  I also found a tonne of recipes for using nam yee and am eager to try them at a later date as they sound yummy!

The biscuits were dead easy to make.  The only problem I faced was finding sufficient table top space for rolling out the dough, putting the baking tin and the cooling rack.  The apartment we stay in is tiny to say the least.

As with most cooks, I modified the recipe a bit to suit my taste buds.  I also don’t own a weighing scale so I have converted to cup measurements.  I also didn’t have a cookie cutter so I used an Ikea plastic cup to cut out my  biscuits.

Kampar 鸡仔饼

Makes about 50 biscuits (2″ across)

Adapted from  The Pleasure Monger

Ingredients

Portion A:
2.5 cups self-raising flour
1 cup icing sugar (I used slightly less)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon five spice powder
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 teaspoon garlic, chopped very finely
80g white sesame seeds

Portion B:
1 medium eggs
2 tablespoons honey
2 pieces Nam Yee, mashed to paste
1 tablespoon kecap manis (Indonesian thick and sweet soy sauce)
100ml sunflower oil

Method

Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius.

Combine all of Portion A into a bowl after sifting.

Mash up the Nam Yee and add the rest of Portion B and mix it up.

Slowly pour Portion B into Portion A, continuously mixing, binding all the ingredients together to form a lump of dough.  If it doesn’t bind well, add more liquid.  I chose to use egg as the mixture seemed fairly oily enough.

Then roll the dough out between freezer film to 2mm thickness.  The freezer film makes removal really easy and it is reuseable.  The biscuits increase slightly in size so leaving a 1.5cm gap is good.

Rachel recommends baking for 6 minutes but I found my biscuits too pale and ended up baking them for 10 minutes or so.  But watch them closely!  I had a number of biscuits turn a really dark brown which didn’t look nice aesthetically but were yummy nonetheless.

The biscuits were terribly addictive.  And that’s what’s left after waiting for 2 days for the light conditions to be better for photography.  But they are so easy to make that I’m probably going to make more very soon!

5 Responses to “Kampar 鸡仔饼 (Chicken biscuits)”

  1. The Pleasure Monger November 4, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Hi there! Thanks for linking back on my Kampar Chicken Biscuit post, I’m glad you loved the biscuits! The first recipe I found too called for 10 minutes of baking, and the one I followed called for 5-6 minutes, mine were burnt even at 7minutes! =( So I turned it back down to 5-6 minutes, thank goodness they turned out alright. The good thing is these biscuits are very thin and cook very easily, so as long as we get a nice brown colour on them, they will be alright! I love your photo, btw! Nice tip on the freezer film!

    • brainybairn November 4, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

      Agreed! I am finding that I’ve gotta vary times of baking – I’m just starting off with regards to baking and learning as I go along! I love YOUR photos! Especially the macaroons! Thanks for dropping by!

  2. The Pleasure Monger November 4, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Ahh, congrats on embarking on the baking journey, it’s a fantastic little nook to be in, so welcome onboard! Thanks for your sweet comments, be posting up more macarons entries, so keep coming back! x

  3. Kitchen Slave November 13, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    WOW I have never heard of these biscuits before.. At first I thought “ewww.. fermented tofu?” But I guess they’re kinda savoury? and the kid likes them? Maybe I’ll try one of these days 🙂

    • brainybairn November 13, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      It’s not smelly like chou dou fu. It got a lovely savory sweet flavor.

Leave a Reply

