Documented experiment #1 – Baked Chicken

25 Oct

Ever since I flipped the switch to the oven on, I’ve been finding out how advantageous cooking with the oven can be.  The initial plan was to try this recipe from Home Cooking Rocks but I ended up having to improvise as the jam I thought I had was almost finished!

So what does a woman with less than an hour to prepare dinner have to do?  Wing it!  So I ended up making do with what I had in the pantry.

I’m not a fan of using whole chickens.  Mainly because I have to chop them up and very few people in my family actually savor breast meat.  So a packet of chicken cutlets went into the pan to brown.  It was a very fatty lot of meat!  No oil was added since I had a non stick pan, but I got a centimetre deep of oil with a lot of splatter!  So much for reducing the cleaning up with baking!

I poured away most of the oil and used a teaspoon of the chicken oil to fry some sliced garlic and then added some fresh shitake mushrooms I got from the market.  It was very nicely fragranced. And yes, a tad unhealthy but I’m not one that chases the healthy notion too closely.  We only live once!

Then the chicken cutlets went onto the baking tray with red onion shreds sprinkled over it along with some oregano and lemon juice with it’s zest.  My sister-in-law does a mean baked potato which I tried to replicate (from my head) and failed.  So no recipe for that – yet.

Dinner came out of the over very nicely flavored without any salt used on the chickens and everything got cleaned up!  A success in my books!

Baked Chicken
Serves 4

Ingredients
8 pieces of chicken cutlets
1/2 a large red onion
Juice and zest of 1 lemon
1 tsp Oregano
Salt and pepper to taste

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 200 degree celsius.
2. Sear the chicken cutlets to seal in the juices.  Place on the baking tray.
3. Chop up the large red onion and sprinkle over the chicken cutlets.
4. Pour the juice and zest of the chicken, followed by oregano sprinklings over.
5. Bake chicken for 40 minutes

Panfried shitake mushrooms
Serves 4

Ingredients
1 tbs olive oil (I used the chicken oil in smaller amounts so I didn’t have to wash)
400g Shitake mushrooms
1 clove of garlic finely sliced
Salt and pepper to taste

Method
1. Heat the oil up until just starting to bubble a little.
2. Add the garlic slices (beware not to have the pan too hot – the garlic will burn) and fry till a golden crips.
3. Add the mushrooms and fry until wilted.
4. Salt and pepper to taste

I also tried baking the garlic cloves and I think that deserves a completely separate post, considering how much I don’t like the taste of garlic! Yes.  I’m slowly becoming a convert!

Not many photos as I was in a rush and the light was getting low.  But am thinking of how to bake the chicken without the searing (and splatter).  I reckon greaseproof paper may be the answer.  Will let you know how it turns out!

2 Responses to “Documented experiment #1 – Baked Chicken”

  1. Elaine N October 25, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Let me be the first to comment and congratulate you on a blog well done 🙂 Lovely Lovely photo. What camera do you use btw? Looks scrummy. Wish I could eat the computer screen. Look forward to seeing more and swapping tips!

    • brainybairn October 25, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

      Thanks! You are too kind! I use a Nikon D60.

Leave a Reply

