Chocolate muffins

30 Nov

My cousin loves her chocolate.  So I though I’d make some chocolate muffins for her.  Some moist, chocolately goodness.  A parting kind of gift for her last day in Melbourne. Food Network had a recipe from Nigella Lawson and from what I read, Nigella’s recipes are always quite easy and rich.  What’s more, I had all the ingredients in my cupboard except cocoa powder so I used some drinking chocolate.  The end result was a lighter colored muffin.

I was obviously distracted when I put 3/4 cup of oil instead of 1/3.  So I had to do my math and ended up with 26 muffins instead of 12 as I originally intended.  Sigh.  Lots of muffins to finish now!  Luckily for me, they were yummy, yummy, yummy – especially the parts with the chunks of chocolate.

Chocolate Muffins

Adapted from Food Network

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients

1 and 3/4 cup all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 tbs cocoa powder

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup cooking chocolate

1/3 cup plus 2 tbs vegetable oil

1 cup milk

1 egg

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius
  2. Chop up cooking chocolate into small chunks
  3. Mix all the dry ingredients together
  4. Mix all the wet ingredients together
  5. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together to get a lumpy batter
  6. Spoon into muffin paper cups in a muffin tray
  7. Bake for 20 minutes

Tips

  1. It pays to use good quality chocolate.  The cheaper versions leave a slightly waxy after taste due to the higher vegetable oil content.
  2. There are many types of chocolate available on the shelves. Look here for a good introduction to what you see.
  3. You can fill the muffin tin halfway and then place the chocolate chunks in the centre, followed by more batter for a oozy, chocolaty centre.
  4. For a greater enjoyment of your muffin, it’s best to heat it up in the oven before serving to melt the chocolate!  YUM!
3 Responses to “Chocolate muffins”

  1. theordinarycook November 30, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Extra muffins – definitely a bonus! I like the new layout.

    • brainybairn November 30, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

      Thanks! I’m still learning how to use wordpress!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in review « The Accidental Weekend Chef - January 7, 2011

    [...] Chocolate muffins November 2010 2 comments 5 [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

